Category Archives: Reviews

(Review:) Lil Wayne – Tha Carter IV

“Wayne kicks off the album with, “It’s been awhile.” We hear the infamous lighter spark, and his signature laugh, and with that, Lil Wayne is back. Over a slowly growing, Willy Will produced beat, we get a playful Weezy doing his thing and making references to a number of people including: Helen Keller, Dusty Rhodes, Rudy Huxtable, and Grace Jones. “Blunt Blowin” is up next and is one of the albums standouts which showcases Weezy’s “not give a f*ck” attitude.”

You can read my entire review of Lil Wayne’s Tha Carter IV here.

Related: (Music:) Lil Wayne – It’s Good ft. Jadakiss & Drake

(News:) A Track-by-Track Preview of J. Cole’s “Cole World: The Sideline Story”

Last night as part of the team, I got a chance to preview J. Cole’s debut album Cole World: The Sideline Story with a number of music critics, bloggers, and Cole himself, at Roc the Mic Studios in Manhattan. Not only was this a dream come true, as a huge Cole fan, but this was also my first listening session.

I wrote an extensive, track-by-track breakdown of the non-finalized album that was played for us last night which you can check out over here.

Cole World: The Sideline Story in stores September 27th!

Related: (Video:) J. Cole – Work Out

(Review:) Jay Rock – Follow Me Home

Jay Rock, a Watts native, is releasing his debut, Follow Me Home
 (Strange Music), today, July 26th.  Jay is a member of the California super-freestyle group, Black Hippy, and one of the top up and comers of 2011.  His album includes appearances by Lil Wayne, Rick Ross, Chris Brown, Tech N9ne, as well as fellow Black Hippy members Ab-Soul, Schoolboy Q, and freshman phenom Kendrick Lamar.  After listening to it a few times I realized this Is a great album, and in my opinion the best debut of a Cali MC since Blue and Exile’s Below The Heavens.

Read the entire track by track review Follow Me Home
of after the jump!

Continue reading

(Mixtape:) Lil Wayne – Sorry 4 the Wait

A little something to hold fans over until The Carter IV drops on August 29th which recently has been revealed to feature guests like: Nas, Jadakiss, Shyne and more! Sorry 4 the Wait is 99% freestyles with appearances from Gudda Gudda and Lil B. You can check my review of the mixtape here. Tracklist and download link below as always:

1. Tunechi’s Back
2. Rollin’
3. Throwed Off feat. Gudda Gudda
4. Gucci Gucci
5. Marvin’s Room
6. Sure Thing
7. Grove St. Party feat. Lil B
8. Racks
9. Hands Up
10. Sorry 4 The Wait
11. Inkredible Remix
2.  IDK (Freestyle)

DOWNLOAD: (Mixtape:) Lil Wayne – Sorry 4 the Wait